Long lasting red lips

Hello my pretty berries,

I don’t know about you but there is nothing worse than having red lips “feathering” and transferring when eating or smooching and worse of  all when you have to keep re-applying 10 times  throughout the day. I thought I would share with you what I do when I use any red lipsticks because it’s such a statement look without doing too much. Technically, you can do this technique with pretty much any colour of lipstick but I do find myself going the extra step only when I use a darker shade of lipstick.

First, I picked some top red shades from high end to drugstore products. Also, you will need a lip liner, preferably something long lasting just like the Annabelle waterproof lip liner in Boisenberry. As for the lipstick, anything will do just fine. I just have here the Wet n Wild in Stoplight red, Revlon Colorburst in Crimson, Hour Glass in Icon and Nars in Dragon Girl.

20141218_205822

Left to right: Anabelle Lipliner, Nars, Hourglass, Wet N Wild, Revlon

Then, you will need some type of translucent powder. I just have the Bare Minerals – Original Mineral Veil. I just use my finger to dab some of the product onto my lips until it is not sticky or “wet” anymore. You can test this by kissing your arm and if there are any red colour that transferred that means you have to add some more powder.

20141218_210319

Your lips should look a little bit like the photo below. The flash of the camera kind of made it look glossy but it is matte and non-transferrable. It is definitely a lot longer lasting than just applying your lipstick but it’s not a tattoo either so at some point it will start to fade but not as fast.

20141218_224843 20141218_225826

Well, that is all for me. I hope you enjoyed this blog post and let me know what you would like to see me post next.

Don’t forget to comment and like =)

Kisses,

Joy

5 thoughts on “Long lasting red lips

  1. I love stoplight red from wet n wild, so good and cheap! I’ll have to try that trick of dabbing translucent powder on top, I’ve heard of it before but have never tried it. Thanks for the tip!

    • Yay! Red lippies are my go-to glam look and I’m sure you would love this trick. I especially love it when I get a glass of wine and no lipstick transfers on my glass (not very attractive) 😉

      • You know I’m actually bizarrely nervous about wearing mine lol The fact I have such pale skin and dark hair can usually be a hectic contrast but I’m gonna rev up my inner glam & give it a go! The glass scenario sounds fab 😀 X

Leave a comment